footprint of a twin tower

9/11 Memorial

Earlier this month we visited the 9/11 Memorial, on the site of the World Trade Center in New York City. The memorial is well executed and appropriate.

Where each of the twin towers stood, there is now a sunken pool and waterfall.  The names of 3000+ victims surround the pools. The water in the pool falls into a black void where you can’t see the bottom.

footprint of a twin tower
footprint of a twin tower

There’s a building going up on the site.

WTC pool and building
WTC pool and building

I felt a personal connection with 9/11.  I expect that most Americans feel this way.

Our family vacationed in New York City the Christmas before 9/11, and we visited the World Trade Center. There was a heavy snowstorm that morning.  We wanted to see a Broadway show, and there was an indoor booth selling discount tickets in the lobby.  We watched the snow swirl and come down, from the warmth of the lobby. While standing in line to purchase tickets, we talked with a guy who worked upstairs. I’ve wondered if he was at work on 9/11.

tkts booth at World Trade Center lobby
tkts booth at World Trade Center lobby, December 2000

I remember where I was on 9/11 — I was at home packing my bags for a business trip.  My wife called to tell me to turn on the TV. I watched as events unfolded.

I didn’t go to the airport that morning.  Two colleagues were on aboard a plane that morning.  Their plane left the terminal, sat on the runway, and then returned to the terminal, since flights were cancelled.  Other colleagues were on a business trip in the midwest.  Eventually, they drove a rental car for several days to get back to California.

The 9/11 Memorial is fitting and effective.  I mourn for the dead and for the lost innocence, and I remember.

Published by

charley280

I enjoy travel, art, food, photography, nature, California native plants, history, and yoga. I am a retired software engineer. The gravatar is a Nuttall's woodpecker that visited our backyard.

One thought on “9/11 Memorial”

Leave a Reply

