rainbow against pink clouds

Chasing a Double Rainbow

The other evening I saw a double rainbow in the east. I ran to get a camera, but the second rainbow had already faded when I returned. Here’s the best I was able to capture. To the right of the rainbow, there’s a faint arc against the darker cloud.

a weak double rainbow
a weak double rainbow

Five minutes later, looking up and to the east, the rainbow appears before pink, billowy clouds, with deep blue sky overhead and pale blue sky to the east. The sun is setting, explaining the pink clouds and blue sky overhead.

rainbow against pink clouds
rainbow against pink clouds

Four minutes later, the sun, now over the horizon, illuminates clouds in the west. The red rays of the sun are hitting the bottoms of the clouds, painting them red. The tops of the clouds are not illuminated, so they’re black. I like the contrast between the red and black, showing the texture of the clouds.

red and black clouds at sunset
red and black clouds at sunset

I didn’t get the double rainbow picture that prompted me to run for my camera, but within 10 minutes I got some sunset photos, illustrating serendipity and the value of being patient at sunset.

The photo equipment is a Canon 6D camera and EF 24-105mm f/4L lens.

Published by

charley280

I enjoy travel, art, food, photography, nature, California native plants, history, and yoga. I am a retired software engineer. The gravatar is a Nuttall's woodpecker that visited our backyard.

Leave a Reply

