Liebster Award

I have been nominated for the Liebster Award, which discovers and recognizes new bloggers. I truly appreciate the recognition of this award by Dennis Wagoner, as well as the comments and likes from folks reading this blog. Thank you all very much!

Dennis’s blog, A Trivial Mind at Work, covers life and shares my interest in photography, nature, and travel. Dennis and I are both interested in math.

The Rules: If you have been nominated for Liebster Award and accept it, you are required to follow a few rules.

  • Write a post about the Liebster Award.
  • Thank the person who nominated you.
  • Post a link to the person’s blog who nominated you on your blog.
  • Answer all the 11 questions provided by the person who nominated you.
  • Nominate 11 deserving blogs, who have a follower count of less than 1000. (You can also nominate who has already received this award.)
  • Create a new list of 11 questions for your nominees to answer.
  • List out all the rules in your blog post.
  • Do not forget to inform the nominees. You can do this by commenting on their blog post. Most importantly, give a link for them to your post.

The Questions: Dennis posed these questions, with my responses.

  1. Why do you write? I started writing a blog when I retired three years ago to add a narrative to our travel photos, capturing memories and what worked well for us. The process of writing helps me organize and express my thoughts. The blog reflects our interests — art, food, travel, culture, photography, history, wildlife, California native plants, and the environment — and provides a durable record that we can revisit and share.
  2. What do yo do to ‘get away from it all’? We’re fortunate to live in the San Francisco Bay Area, and we’re very happy staying here. That said, we like variety. We’ve travelled a lot to Europe, the East Coast, and Hawaii.
  3. What is next on your list of big things to do? We’re planning a trip to Southeast Asia, preparing by reading history and guidebooks.
  4. What one thing during your school years would you have done differently if you knew then what you know now? Part of me wishes I had tried harder socially. But I’m happy with how life has turned out, so I’d probably stand pat.
  5. What is your favorite all-time blog post (could be yours or from another blog – please include a link if you can)? My favorite blog post is http://peopleplacesandbling.com/2014/01/23/sweet-and-lowdown-swinging-by-the-paris-clignancourt-flea-market/#more-8148. Paris is one of our favorite cities, and Theodora Brack’s breezy style is enchanting.
  6. What is your idea of ‘success’? Success is doing what is meaningful and valuable to you. At the end of the day, you want to be able to look back and have few regrets about missing out on something important to you. Deciding what’s meaningful can be a difficult, personal, and change over time. Our health care provider gave us a life care planning booklet that asks about values: if I were having a good day, I would be doing the following; life would no longer be worth living if I want not able to _________; life would no longer be worth living if I had to _________. My whole life, I’ve wondered what I want to be when I grow up. I never quite figured it out, and these questions are even harder!
  7. What makes up your favorite meal? My taste in food has changed the past few years, as we pay more attention to what we eat and moved to a Mediterranean diet. Despite this new knowledge of what’s good for me, a recent rib roast dinner with family was wonderful, and I can’t think of anything better!
  8. What advice would you give a new blogger? Write about what’s important to you. Write for yourself, and with time you’ll find your voice. Writing isn’t easy — it takes practice and time. Blogging has to be important enough to consistently put aside other things you enjoy or need to do.
  9. What are your impediments to writing a blog post? Selecting a subject and having the time to prepare and write the post. As with any communication, the hardest part is deciding what not to say.
  10. Who gives you the most encouragement? My wife, other family, friends, and other bloggers are all important. But you have to find value from within, to be satisfied with what you’ve thought through, felt, and written.
  11. What every-day chore do you despise? I’ve learned to put up with the everyday chores that have to be done, so fortunately I don’t despise any. If someone else would take out the garbage, that’d be great. But that’s not going to happen, so I take out the garbage.

The Nominations

  1. Cornel Apostol at Cornel Apostol.
  2. Matthias at Wildlife Weeks.
  3. Colin at A tramp in the woods.
  4. Gin at Darwin on the rocks.
  5. Creative thinker.
  6. Blue dot.
  7. Billy at Billy’s Travel Album.

The Eleven questions

  1. Why do you write?
  2. What’s next on your list of big things to do?
  3. What one thing during your school years would you have done differently if you knew then what you know now?
  4. Who said something to you that really encouraged you as a child?
  5. What is your favorite all-time blog post (could be yours or from another blog – please include a link if you can)?
  6. What advice would you give a new blogger?
  7. What are your impediments to writing a blog post?
  8. Who gives you the most encouragement?
  9. What is your idea of ‘success’?
  10. What gives you happiness?
  11. What are you trying to learn or improve?

I enjoy blogging, and I hope to continue for a while. Once again, my thanks to Dennis for the Liebster Award nomination. My best wishes to Dennis, the folks I nominated, and Theodora Brack.

Charley

Published by

charley280

I enjoy travel, art, food, photography, nature, California native plants, history, and yoga. I am a retired software engineer. The gravatar is a Nuttall's woodpecker that visited our backyard.

2 thoughts on “Liebster Award”

  1. South East Asia is amazing, but it can be tough sometimes, especially the humidity. I hope you will enjoy yourself. Thanks for the nomination for the Liebster award, unfortunately, I have very little time to dedicate to replying to them, but I really appreciate that. Thanks again ! I wish you a lot of success with your blog, and a merry xmas and happy new year 2015. Greetings from Lapland (where I’m enjoying my xmas holiday) x Gin

Leave a Reply

