Kauai

This summer we visited the island of Kauai in Hawaii, where we enjoyed Kauai‘s high cliffs, deep valleys, and water. For six million years, “high annual rainfall has eroded deep valleys in the central mountains, carving out canyons with many scenic waterfalls.”

Above is a sunrise from our condo, where the rising sun paints the beach and trees with a red glow.

Our first morning we walked to the point the other end of the bay, where these geese were on the other side of the walkway. I crouched down to take their picture, and they kept walking toward me. Not wanting to have my hands at beak level, I stood up after taking this photo, and they walked away. I asked a local what kind of birds they are. He said they’re nene geese, and they’re territorial. Nene geese are Hawaii’s state bird. I had never seen them before, and I might have seen them real close if I hadn’t stood up.

nene geese, Hawaii state bird

Kauai also has wild chickens everywhere — roosters, hens, and offspring. Thankfully, crowing roosters were far enough away to not disturb our sleep.

When in Hawaii, we eat Hawaiian food. Mostly from Costco, here’s lunch on our balcony: laulau, kalua pork, poi, kim chee, and beer. The beach looks much plainer at midday, illustrating the difference light can make.

Hawaiian food for lunch

I took a doors-off helicopter ride around the island, flying over Waimea Canyon and the Na Pali Coast. To avoid reflections from the helicopter doors in my photos, I chose a helicopter with the doors off.  On the left is the helicopter with no doors; on the right are the Na Pali cliffs. Na Pali means the cliffs in Hawaiian. The guy next to me has both hands on his camera, as I did. People pay money to hang on to a camera with both hands, thousands of feet in the air, in a helicopter with no doors.

We hiked the Kalalau Trail along the Na Pali Coast.

Na Pali coast from the Kalalau Trail

We saw Waimea Canyon and part of the Na Pali Coast.

Waimea Canyon

From Kauai, we flew to Honolulu.

Published by

charley280

I enjoy travel, art, food, photography, nature, California native plants, history, and yoga. I am a retired software engineer. The gravatar is a Nuttall's woodpecker that visited our backyard.

2 thoughts on “Kauai”

    1. Yes, it was great this first time. This was my first helicopter ride, and Kauai has great scenery — see my post from today. But the helicopter tour is very expensive, almost $300. I’m glad I did it, but once for Kauai is enough.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

